About prayer requests...

• Christian Chat is a moderated online Christian community allowing Christians around the world to fellowship with each other in real time chat via webcam, voice, and text, with the Christian Chat app. You can also start or participate in a Bible-based discussion here in the Christian Chat Forums, where members can also share with each other their own videos, pictures, or favorite Christian music.

If you are a Christian and need encouragement and fellowship, we're here for you! If you are not a Christian but interested in knowing more about Jesus our Lord, you're also welcome! Want to know what the Bible says, and how you can apply it to your life? Join us!

To make new Christian friends now around the world, click here to join Christian Chat.
Jun 25, 2010
I'm just going to post this here, since I couldn't decide what forum I would place this topic in.

I've been teaching a Sunday school class for the past 3 years now and I've come to find this one thing to be difficult to do: Prayer Requests. My church splits( one class for Jr. high boys, Sr. high guys, Jr. high girls, and Sr. high girls) up our youth for Sunday school, and before we split up, we always take up prayer requests from everyone. It usually starts off pretty well until someone becames disinterested in what's going on and starts having a conversation with someone next to them, which causes others to join in on their own conversations with someone next to them, and it normally just takes a couple of minutes before everyone seems to do there own thing and just become distractions to the whole class. We always tell our students to be respectful to those who are speaking during this time, but it just seems to fall on deaf ears every week. So my question is, how do I make them take this time more serious? I guess what I'm trying to ask is, is there more of a creative way of taking prayer requests out there? I was thinking about splitting up people into small groups and have an adult