Prayer for a Patient

• Christian Chat is a moderated online Christian community allowing Christians around the world to fellowship with each other in real time chat via webcam, voice, and text, with the Christian Chat app. You can also start or participate in a Bible-based discussion here in the Christian Chat Forums, where members can also share with each other their own videos, pictures, or favorite Christian music.

If you are a Christian and need encouragement and fellowship, we're here for you! If you are not a Christian but interested in knowing more about Jesus our Lord, you're also welcome! Want to know what the Bible says, and how you can apply it to your life? Join us!

To make new Christian friends now around the world, click here to join Christian Chat.
N

NurseH

I have been taking care of a dementia patient for the last 6 months. I work in a hospital where we usually only see patients for a few days, but this patient has proved hard to place in a nursing home because of his relatively young age (50's), his strength and the amount of care he needs (he is non-verbal and incontinent). We have tried several times to place him but usually the homes end up sending him back to us because he is too aggressive. During his time at the hospital I have been his primary care giver. At first I did the basic things for him but did not take any extra time with him because i guess I felt he sort of deserved his problems since he was a heavy drinker and has a lengthy criminal history of disorderly conduct and assaultive behavior (from bar fights). At first it was difficult to do anything for this patient even feeding him because of his aggression. I soon found if I held his hand and stroked it, he would let me feed him instead of swatting my hand away. After a while we built a rapport and I was able to do everything for this pt without much trouble at all. God spoke to me and I realized--who am I to judge this man when Jesus asked forgiveness even for the soldiers that