What if your pastor is going through divorce?

• Christian Chat is a moderated online Christian community allowing Christians around the world to fellowship with each other in real time chat via webcam, voice, and text, with the Christian Chat app. You can also start or participate in a Bible-based discussion here in the Christian Chat Forums, where members can also share with each other their own videos, pictures, or favorite Christian music.

If you are a Christian and need encouragement and fellowship, we're here for you! If you are not a Christian but interested in knowing more about Jesus our Lord, you're also welcome! Want to know what the Bible says, and how you can apply it to your life? Join us!

To make new Christian friends now around the world, click here to join Christian Chat.

KJ22

Apr 14, 2013
I attend a large church and discovered that the First Lady has filed for divorce against the pastor. The case is still pending and unresolved. I'm a lawyer myself and saw the case docket. Otherwise, I wouldn't know about the case. I don't want to gossip about my pastor or past judgment. However, I question whether he should continue to serve as pastor at this time. Doesn't the bible require that he step down while he "gets his house in order"? If he doesn't step down, would I be wrong to leave the church for this reason?

Thanks for your thoughts.

maxwel

Apr 18, 2013
There are a lot of different opinions, but in general, I think the "why" is really a big issue.

Was he a victim of immorality, or a perpetrator?
It's a pretty big issue.

The pastor is the moral leader and teacher -
serious discussion of something catastrophic in his life is not a matter of gossip,
it's a matter of genuine, personal relevance to each member of the congregation,
as well as to the future of the church.

Whatever the outcome, it definitely needs to be addressed and discussed at your church.

B

BananaPie