What is love?

• Christian Chat is a moderated online Christian community allowing Christians around the world to fellowship with each other in real time chat via webcam, voice, and text, with the Christian Chat app. You can also start or participate in a Bible-based discussion here in the Christian Chat Forums, where members can also share with each other their own videos, pictures, or favorite Christian music.

If you are a Christian and need encouragement and fellowship, we're here for you! If you are not a Christian but interested in knowing more about Jesus our Lord, you're also welcome! Want to know what the Bible says, and how you can apply it to your life? Join us!

To make new Christian friends now around the world, click here to join Christian Chat.
S

Seth

Baby don't hurt me... don't hurt me... no more.

Hehe. Song's wayyy too catchy.

But onto the main topic.

I'm a newbie when it comes to love. I can't say I know what it is, I can't say I've ever experienced it, and I can't say that I know what it's caused from. So, I post this thread in the hopes that someone more experienced in the topic could give me a tip or two about it.

There's a few brain tickler's that I can't seem to wrap my head around, though.

If love is unconditional, then why is it that so many people are so careful about who they choose as partners? Setting certain requirements for a person to reach before they are dating material. This just seems to contradict itself so much. Wouldn't this mean that as soon as those requirements weren't met, the love would end? That would certainly explain a lot of ruined relationships.

We know the symptoms of being on love, but what's the cause of it? I don't mean physical attraction or anything like that. I mean genuine love. The kind that keeps two people together regardless of what either of them do. Is it something beyond what humans are able to grasp?