Woman Officer Leads Guard of Honour for Obama

• Christian Chat is a moderated online Christian community allowing Christians around the world to fellowship with each other in real time chat via webcam, voice, and text, with the Christian Chat app. You can also start or participate in a Bible-based discussion here in the Christian Chat Forums, where members can also share with each other their own videos, pictures, or favorite Christian music.

If you are a Christian and need encouragement and fellowship, we're here for you! If you are not a Christian but interested in knowing more about Jesus our Lord, you're also welcome! Want to know what the Bible says, and how you can apply it to your life? Join us!

To make new Christian friends now around the world, click here to join Christian Chat.

Rachel20

May 7, 2013
The US President Obama is the first president of the USA to be invited to India's Republic Day celebrations as Chief Guest.

NEW DELHI: "I am an officer first and then a woman," said a proud Wing Commander Pooja Thakur after she became the first lady officer to lead the Inter-Service Guard of Honour which was inspected by US President Barack Obama at Rashtrapati Bhavan here today.

"It is a proud moment to be representing the Indian Air Force commanding the Inter-Services Guard of Honour and that too to Mr Barack Obama," Thakur said.

Asked how difficult it was for a woman officer in the Services, she said there is no differentiation.

"I would say that we are first officers, be it male or female. We are just the same. We are given the same kind of training. We are equals," she told PTI here.

Thakur, who joined the Indian Air Force in 2000, belongs to the administrative branch and is currently posted at 'Disha', the publicity cell under the Directorate of Personnel Officers at the Air Force Headquarters.

'Nari shakti' (woman power) is the theme for Republic Day parade this year where Obama is the chief guest.