Reply Function can't be cleared

  • Christian Chat is a moderated online Christian community allowing Christians around the world to fellowship with each other in real time chat via webcam, voice, and text, with the Christian Chat app. You can also start or participate in a Bible-based discussion here in the Christian Chat Forums, where members can also share with each other their own videos, pictures, or favorite Christian music.

    If you are a Christian and need encouragement and fellowship, we're here for you! If you are not a Christian but interested in knowing more about Jesus our Lord, you're also welcome! Want to know what the Bible says, and how you can apply it to your life? Join us!

    To make new Christian friends now around the world, click here to join Christian Chat.

Dino246

Senior Member
Jun 30, 2015
11,245
5,656
113
#1
Sometimes when I click the "Reply" button, I decide not to post my reply and simply click back to the main forum. The next time I enter that thread, the material I quoted and/or wrote is still in my reply box. Can this be reset so that clicking out of a thread completely clears the Reply queue?
 

posthuman

Senior Member
Jul 31, 2013
24,935
6,507
113
#2
Sometimes when I click the "Reply" button, I decide not to post my reply and simply click back to the main forum. The next time I enter that thread, the material I quoted and/or wrote is still in my reply box. Can this be reset so that clicking out of a thread completely clears the Reply queue?
i like the incomplete reply being persistent in some cases because then i can start to type something, go find other bits of information or quotes, think more, etc. and come back later and complete it without leaving a tab open all the time to make sure it doesn't go away, hoping it doesn't time out in connection or something and lose what i've written.

but i would often like to be able to delete what i've started to write because i've changed my mind about posting it for some reason or another. even if i delete all the text in a reply i've started, it stays, when i open that thread again. often iv'e written a different reply and the one i tried to backspace/delete/discard earlier is still there. especially on a mobile where you can't see much of a page at once just because of size, i find i'm accidentally posting stuff i meant to delete, sometimes days ago.

what i think would be ideal is to keep the way the forum 'remembers' a reply i've started, because that's useful, but if somehow there would be a 'delete' button on a reply to discard a draft. i would rather have it be an available option than go back to drafts always being discarded by default whenever i navigate away. used to be, you could accidentally lose a lot of work by clicking a wrong button etc.
 

blue_ladybug

Senior Member
Feb 21, 2014
68,786
7,071
113
#3
In the reply box here, the 2nd to last icon, click on it and do "delete draft".. :)